Open daily 10 A.M. – 4 P.M.

Twice Told Tales

Twice Told Tales


“The book, if you would see anything in it, requires to be read in the clear, brown, twilight atmosphere in which it was written; if opened in the sunshine, it is apt to look exceedingly like a volume of blank pages.” Nathaniel Hawthorne, Twice Told Tales

3 in stock



Twice Told Tales is a collection of Hawthorne’s 39 renowned short stories, featuring classics like “The Minister’s Black Veil,” “Wakefield,” “Mr. Higginbotham’s Catastrophe,” and “The Lily’s Quest.” Originally released in newspapers, these stories were eventually united within a single volume in 1837.

The Modern Library Classics edition of Twice Told Tales includes an introduction by Rosemary Mahoney and features newly commissioned explanatory notes.

Each Nathaniel Hawthorne book is stamped saying “Purchased from the House of the Seven Gables,” and with a facsimile of his signature from our archives.

Explore more Hawthorne texts offered by The House of the Seven Gables: The Scarlet LetterThe House of the Seven Gables, Twenty Days with Julian and Little Bunny by Papa

Additional information

Weight1.1 lbs
Dimensions8 × 5.5 × 1 in

Date: April 12, 2023

Author: Adeline Clemons

Share on social media!