The Retire Beckett house was constructed around 1655 by John Beckett, the first in a long line of famed Salem shipbuilders. The most well-known of these shipbuilders is Retire Beckett, for whom the home is named. The home was originally located on Beckett Street (less than a ½ mile from the museum campus). It was moved to our campus in 1924 by Caroline Emmerton to save the structure from demolition.
Currently, the Retire Beckett House contains our unique museum store.